2.0

The Geek VC Fund Project: 7/26 Update

In Uncategorized on July 25, 2006 at 10:55 pm

This post is an update to the original post about the Geek-Run, Geek-Funded Venture Capital Fund.

  1. The idea has evolved by leaps and bounds.
  2. First project to be funded within 4-5 months.
  3. The framework will be socialized with the public at large when we have the first fruits of our labor.

Tags:

Web 2.0, Web 2.0, venture capital, venture capital, VC, entrepreneur, funding, private equity, geek, seed funding, early stage, Startup

  1. Oh man! If only I had the savvy, expertise, liquidity necessary to get involved, I still wouldn’t be allowed to! But would still want to. I can’t wait to hear how this turns out, because it sounds very fun. Less fun than the time an internet forum I frequented tried to buy a record company / aircraft carrier, but more realistic. I’m just psyched for you (mysterious) guys to have had your little creatue… evolve, or grow, or gestate or whatever verb you feel is applicable. I trust you’ll fund something EXCITING!

  2. EXCITING it will be, especially if you’re in the business of out-evolving the dinosaurs.

    Who wants to be a dianosaur in the age of nano-technology? The bigger you are the more exposed you are to radical disruption. The smaller and more distributed your are the more deadly.

    Marc

  3. We are going to break digg, so check out the blog and see if you want to be part of Webreakdigg.

  4. You just give me a call when it becomes a managed Fidelity fund (back here in Boston!) and I can buy in once the gains have already deprecated and its nothing but a new prospectus to use as a coaster.

    Wait…

  5. From sarcasm comes samcasm :)

    I haven’t left Boston as of yet. I have to meet someone at the Wikimania conference here in Cambridge early next week.

    Marc

  6. Marc,

    This is a great idea, and I’d love to compare notes with you about a similar idea I’ve been working on behind the scenes with someother people.

  7. I’d be happy to share the model when we meet up.

    Marc

Leave a Reply

